Of Neglected Blogs and Kites

Yeah, yeah I know I’ve been slacking AGAIN!  I’ve been very busy with work and family vacations and just plain yucky heat and humidity (can’t wait for winter!).

I thought I would give a brief updates as to the Mississippi Kites which had been spotted near Ames, Montgomery County, New York earlier this summer.  As far as I’m aware there have been no sightings since August 3 of either bird, and recently a well known birder spent several hours in the area spotting nothing.  This does not bode well for confirming nesting in NY, but I think there is a good chance the birds might be back next year, more mature and might have a successful nesting attempt. 

It will be interesting to see once the leaves fall off, if some sort of a nest can be found.  The land owner where the birds were suspected of nesting, clearly denied any attempt to access the property, so chances are we will never know.

At some point I’ll get back to working on this blog and of course getting out more birding, and getting some more pictures, no matter how much you like these all text blogs!

Leave a Reply

