Northern Hawk Owl: Peru, New York

* Note due to some technical difficulties (my pc card slot not working) I don’t have the video up.  I hope to have that fixed in the next couple of days.

Danika and I made the long 2.5 hour Drive from Albany to Peru New York in search of the previously reported Northern Hawk Owl.  Because I am thinking of doing a big year in New York this year, I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss this not so easy to find bird.

Really it was a slow day of birding and we didn’t find much else, but our new GPS unit worked wonderfully and really we can’t complain too much about a day spent birding the Adirondacks.  The Hawk Owl did not dissapoint, even though it wasn’t a life bird or even a State bird (it was a county bird), they are still great birds to watch and observe.

Enjoy.

NHO 2

NHO 3

NHO 4

NHO 5

And a Female Bufflehead for something different.

Bufflehead 1

5 responses to “Northern Hawk Owl: Peru, New York

  1. Great bird & nice pics – I’ll be interested in seeing the video too. Good luck if you do go for the big year. Let me know if there’s anything in eastern MA that you want/need and if you’ll be heading this way.

  2. Pingback: The Vagabirding Travel Magazine Awards - IATB #91 | World Travel Pictures

Leave a Reply

