The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill

Yes I know I’m behind the times, but I saw this movie on Netflix had never seen it (heard a lot about it) so I added to my list.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect when we started the Movie.  The film its self is simple, but I would say not beautifully filmed.  The setting of course is Telegraph Hill in San Francisco, where a flock of non native Parrots have sort of taken over the neighborhood, all under the watchful eye of a rather unusual man.

The film actually shifts away from the Parrots and focuses squarely on one man, Mark Bittner.  Mr. Bittner isn’t your normal ‘bird watcher’.  His interest isn’t in the native birds of California, but of the Parrots.  Over the years, he has built up a relationship with the Parrots, to which the birds trust him enough to feed from his hand and land on him.  While it looks like it happened overnight on the film, this relationship took no doubt weeks and months to accomplish.

Honestly I enjoyed the film.  There was lots of ‘face’ time for the Parrots and really you got a great look and perhaps a small understanding of how unique individual Parrots are.  Too bad Mr. Bittner has a lot of face time, as he isn’t going to win any beauty awards anytime soon.  But the film does a great job, in showing his genuine love for these birds.  Even when forced to move from his ‘home’, he takes the unusual step of advocating that people do nothing to help the birds.  Despite not agreeing with Mr. Bittner’s lifestyle (having kids changes your outlook on things) I do admire his outlook on life and his attitude towards nature.  The surprise ending was touching.

Interestingly both of my kids liked this film.  Sophia (who is 7) was most fascinated with the antics of the individual Parrots, and how they each ‘couple’ was unique and how birds take care of each other.  Lillian (Who is 2) liked all the colors.  Each one of them stayed awake and watched the entire film.

I give this movie a 6 out of 10.  Certainly not the best I’ve ever seen, but certainly worth watching once.  I also highly reccommend it for families, trust me my family are tough critics, so if they liked it, yours will too.

Leave a Reply

