Are you a ‘fowl’ mouthed birder?

I was at Stanton Pond a smallish farm Pond in Southern Albany County, that tends to attract a nice variety of waterfowl, waders and shorebirds.

I arrived there the other day and using the scope I stole from Corey at 10,000 Birds (Don’t worry its not a swavorski), I started scanning the edge of the pond, when I noticed a shorebird.  Now I wasn’t there at the best time of day and the light wasn’t great, which meant it was going to take a longer look to ID the bird.

Then the bird did the unthinkable… I walked behind some vegitation…

“#%@^! Mother #@$@$#, @#$#@#$, @%#$@#, %%#@#@#$@#, !@#!@#!@, %#@$@$@, @$@$@%@,  %@%@%@, @#$@#@$, @#$@$@@, Bird, $@#$@%@, @#$@, @#$@#, Sandpiper, #$@%@#, #$@#%@^%, #$@@#, !#$@$@# (that one wasn’t in English), @#%@#$, @#$%@%@$@… Ah a Solitary Sandpiper!”

I suddenly though of all those words I just said and was glad I didn’t have the kids in the car with me.  But then I started to chuckle, here most people think that bird watchers are these meek, geeky people who are slightly more quiet than a librarian, and I just called an inncoent Solitary Sandpiper every evil name in the English Language (and one in Slovak I learned from Danika, something about a pig).

But could you imagine Roger Tory Peterson or Sibley telling astonsihed birders about all the great “F’ing birds” they had that morning?  The looks on peoples faces would be pricesless…

Oh and Mike, Corey and Jory… let this serv as a warning to you!

One response to “Are you a ‘fowl’ mouthed birder?

  1. I can’t imagine meek, mild-mannered Professor Biddle (of the “Biddle Bird Watchers”) saying such things. (This could be a bit before your time…). Next time, wear your khaki shorts, knee-socks, and Smokey-Bear hat. It might help you to stay in character.

Leave a Reply

