Irish Rare Bird Committee

As many of you know, I work for an Irish-American Museum as such I like to keep tabs on what is going on in Ireland. 

As many of you also know, I have a strong interest in birds as well and am just pleased as punch if I can combine the two.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this site before, but if you haven’t checked it out its worth it!

www.irbc.ie/irbc_rarities.html

I always get a kick our reading about hoards of birders coming to see a bird that is ‘common’ in my area.  It’s also interesting to see that Great Spotted Woodpecker has begun (at least attempt) to nest in Ireland.  Ireland doesn’t have a lot of old growth forest, but what forest they do have (primarily in the south) must be mature enough now to start attracting Woodpeckers.  Oddly enough, one of the most common ‘vagrant’ Woodpeckers to Ireland is Downy Woodpecker!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One response to “Irish Rare Bird Committee

Leave a Reply

