Video Game Review: Star Wars Galaxies

I never in a million years thought I would ever play an on-line only game.  Recently I was dragged back into the PC gaming by an old friend who was looking for something for us to do cooperatively on-line (we were big Doom and Doom 2, Command and Conquer, Warcraft 2, Duke Nukem 3D, Hexen players back in the day!).  There are so few games that allow cooperative play on-line (for just 2 players).  We are not into fragging or death matches (see Halo 1-3). 

My friend had gotten a free trial of Star Wars Galaxies, a game which has been out for quite awhile now, but still has quite a few players on it.  After he played it for awhile he gave me a call and told me to download it.  I did, but I have some some trouble connecting to the game.  I don’t mean connecting to the game via the internet, I mean getting into the game.  Both my friend and my wife told me I had chosen a bad character.  I was a Bounty Hunter and had gotten my character up to level 26 (of 90) but as the missions and quests got harder, my character had a lot of trouble standing on his own.  Sure I often traveled in a group with my friend and others and thus I was able to complete missions, but I got very few kills and the game got boring.  The missions are truly boring in the game, but that is not why you play.  Soon I found myself wanting to do more bird watching than playing video games, couple that with my wife getting addicted to the game (she is a level 30 something thief as she reminds me on a daily basis).  Soon my wife was playing a lot more than I was and I just didn’t care.  My friend wanted to play with me, but I just wasn’t having any fun.

So I killed my character.  That’s right just wiped him off the face of the galaxy.  My bank account of hundreds of thousands of credits, Gone.  My house in the game. Gone.  I started over and played as a Commando as per the suggestion of my friend and wife and have found that Character much more to my style and liking.  In one night on the prologue space station I took my character from level 1 to level 10 and had a great time doing it.  With a better character I’m actually looking forward to playing this game, which isn’t something I would have said a couple of weeks ago.

Over all the game has medium graphics and effects but keeps well to the overall Star Wars Theme.  The community aspect is minimal which is fine by me.  The missions are normally very mundane, they are only there to make money and level your character so you can fight in the Galactic Civil War on either the Imperial or Rebel sides (lots of PvP action!) but you have to earn your stripes so to speak first.  With several planets and hundreds of missions on each, you will never have nothing to do.

Space combat is difficult and a lot of players simply avoid it, but a good space battle is an excellent way to earn a lot of experience and level fast.  It’s also a nice change from the mundane go here, get this, kill them mission formats.

The game is free to download, but costs $14.95 a month there after.  I don’t think I would have normally have even considered this game or pay monthly for any game if my friend had not been on it.  There are better games out there to play, but fans of Star Wars and Sci-Fi in general should be largely pleased by this game.

6 out of 10.

One response to “Video Game Review: Star Wars Galaxies

  1. I guess it’s improved since I gave it a whirl. When I tried it, it was so awful in terms of game play, and lame players that it was a significant turn off. Doubt I’ll pick it up again, but it’s nice to see that they have at least attempted to improve the game.

Leave a Reply

