Finding a Rare Bird

No, I didn’t but Corey of 10,000 Birds  did.  I was minding my business at work, when I get a surprise phone call (the only people who call me at work is my wife Danika and Corey).  Anyway, the call was from Corey who told me he was about 99% certain he had just seen a female, YELLOW-HEADED BLACKBIRD, which as vagrants go, is pretty regular but a good find none the less.  He was at the Coast Guard Station at Jones Beach, Suffolk County, New York.

Well I put the screws on him… Did you rule out Red-winged Blackbird, Eastern Meadowlark and Boat-tailed Grackle?  Yes was his reply.  He then described the bird to me, which was Red-winged Blackbird sized, but was overall a buffy yellow.  The only thing in his field guides that the bird matched was YH Blackbird.  Being the kind of person I am, I offered to post it on the New York State List Serv to see if I could get him some help. (I couldn’t help him this time, I was at work over 150 miles away).  Corey also wins an award for being a typical birder.  Sure he had his digital camera and got some pictures, but he didn’t bring the cord to connect it to the computer!!!…  So the world still waits for photographic proof of his glorious find.

The bird flew off just before he called me and though he spent more time looking for it, he did not relocate it again.  Luckily for him, several other birders were able to locate the bird this morning and confirm it’s identification.  For some reason I was thanked for finding the bird along with Corey, which is interesting since I didn’t see the bird.  But it did feel pretty good to know of a good bird before anyone else.

Be sure to check out Corey’s account of his find at somepoint tonight at his blog 10,000 Birds.  Early tomorrow morning Corey and I along with 2 other birders will once again make our way north in search of Adirondack birds.  So be sure to check back on Monday to find out how we made out!

Leave a Reply

