Birds in the Hood

*Note I have now decided to break my previous rule of no pictures*

Since I don’t work Monday’s during the summer, I took a couple of hours this morning to try and track down one warbler which was still lacking on my Life list, Hooded Warbler.  This rather striking warbler is rather uncommon in Eastern New York, but in recent years has begun to move slowly north into the Hudson Valley and Albany County.

This morning I traveled Clarksville, which is located in Central Albany County, New York.  I begun my walk along the trail and found many fledgling Veery’s.  Rose-breasted Grosbeaks and Scarlet Tanagers called from the Canopy overhead.  A Chestnut-sided Warbler was spotted and an Empidox Flycatcher was spotted, but no idea as to species.  Further along the trail I found Downy and Red-bellied Woodpeckers, White-breasted Nuthatches, Great-crested Flycatchers and Red-eyed Vireo’s.  After about 10 minutes of walking, I heard the screams of a Juv. Red-tailed Hawk, obviously hungry.  But still had not even heard anything close to a Hooded Warbler.  At this point I randomly had Cell Phone reception in the middle of the woods (later I would find out this was the ONLY spot on the trail where I had reception), so I gave Corey a call at work to get more details.  I discovered I had gone too far and began to make my way back.  After about 50 feet I saw a small bird fly up onto a nearby branch.  Quickly getting my binocs on it, Boom!  My life Hooded Warbler and a stunning male at that.  I spished a little and he flew closer, too close with the lens I had on the camera, I had to take several steps back but managed to get one good shot of my lifer.

Hooded Warbler, Clarksville, Albany County, New York

I tried for awhile to get him to come out into good light, but he wasn’t going to cooperate.  I left the woods quite happy, knowing I manged to ‘tick’ another species off both my year and life list.

2 responses to “Birds in the Hood

  1. Pingback: Boreal Birds or Bust! « The Nightjar

Leave a Reply

