Things People Search For on the Internet…

One of the best parts of WordPress is that it gives you the search terms that people typed and ended up at your site.  While a lot of them are pretty close or at least have something to do with something you have written, every now and then you get one that just makes you go, WHAT?!

Tonight was one of those nights.

After last nights Thunderstorms which knocked power out to my house for over 7 hours in very, very sticky conditions, I’ve been trying to play catch up today.  As a result I haven’t been paying much attention to this blog, but when I did… There it was.

“Sightings of Passenger Pigeon in 2007”

Okay, take a deep breath.  The person who was searching has obviously just emerged from a retreating glacier in Canada due to Global Warming.  They have only been trapped for say, oh, the last 100 years.  For those who are interested the last known Passenger Pigeon died in the early part of the 20th century.  The species which at one time darkened skies across the Eastern United States because they were so plentiful was gone.  Most people however are rather familiar with their skittish cousin (in comparison) the Mourning Dove.

But this really got me thinking, who would be searching for Passenger Pigeon sightings, when nearly every bird book, heck you don’t even have to be a bird watcher to know about the demise of this species.  Yet someone was brave enough to turn to the world wide web to try and find that last remaining Passenger Pigeon holdout.  Perhaps they were inspired by the sightings of the Ivory-billed Woodpecker and think maybe people have found other extinct birds.  I know for a fact I had a small flock of Bachman’s Warblers in my yard today along with a few Carolina Parakeets at the feeder.  A Great Auk spent the day in the bird bath and a few Labrador Ducks mingled with the Mallards down in Washington Park, but I didn’t see any Passenger Pigeons, at least not yet in 2007…

3 responses to “Things People Search For on the Internet…

  1. I know it sounds crazy, but I’m almost positive I saw 5 of them across the street on a tree.. I tried to get the camera fast, but they were flying away as I focused.. I’ll just chalk it up to UFO’s I guess

Leave a Reply

