Blog Name Change

Recently my blog had it’s 1,000 hit.  I know it means nothing, but it got me thinking about the blog and where I can make improvements.  The first was the name.  SPQR was a noble blog when I started, but I’ve found I’ve wanted to write about more topics than just the Ancient World and I felt the title was misleading.  The new title “The Nightjar” I think more accurately represents what I mostly write about, the Ancient World with birds (and other topics) mixed in.  I thought about going with “The Goatsucker” but decided against it, since I couldn’t begin to think what search engines would bring traffic to the site.

Many concerned people have wondered why I don’t use pictures, especially for a nature blog.  We live in a very visually stimulated world and I find that people today don’t know how to imagine what things look like.  Studies have shown that when you read a description of something (i.e. the bird was a warm, rich buff-brown color) you use more of your brain than if I just showed you a picture of the bird.  Time to exercise those brains people!!!  So no pictures, on this blog.  Get over it.

The nice thing about blogging is that it is always changing and always evolving.  Who knows what will happen in another 1000, 5000 or 10,000 hits.  I guess you’ll just have to keep checking back!

2 responses to “Blog Name Change

Leave a Reply

