Using Tapes to Call Birds Part II

I’m sure you are all wanting to know how I did on the NYC Birding Challenge, but I’m awaiting the final results which I should have by this evening at the latest.  Unlike last year, our main competition has not posted how many species they had on Saturday so we don’t know yet how our total is compared to them.  It should be very interesting.

In a post about 2 weeks ago, I went on a bit of a rant about the use of tapes to call birds.  I don’t have a problem doing it, however I wanted to be able to put a bit of caution into my statements, but couldn’t find the right words.  While listening to Rich Guthries’ account of his Ivory-billed Woodpecker sighting in Arkansas on WAMC last week, he made a statement which made perfect sense:

Let the little guy win.

This is the perfect statement for using tapes to call birds, Let them Win.  For example when I visit the Whip-poor-will, I usually play the call once to get a response, then usually a second time to see if I can catch a glimpse of the bird.  Very often when I leave, the bird is still calling and hopefully he believes he has successfully defended his territory.

So if you use tapes to call birds, just remember to let them win.

Leave a Reply

