2007 New York City Birding Challenge Part III

 

So Ends the Trilogy!

The next day I woke up way too early.  Every muscle in the lower half of my body hurt.  I finally got to shower and somehow made it to the couch where I had little else planned to do for the rest of the day.

The first thing I did, was check my e-mail.  I didn’t see anything from Mike or Seth, but I did see a post on the New York State Birds Listserv from Rob Jett, a member of the Wandering Talliers.  It was entitled “Big Egg Marsh 5/12/07”.  I opened the e-mail.  It went on to read that due to unusually high tides, easily 10,000 shorebirds were forced up close to shore.  My heart sank.  With that many shorebirds close to shore, they no doubt were going to pick up a White-Rumped or Western Sandpiper.  We didn’t have them.  They were going to win.  I finished reading the e-mail.  “The highlight was approx. 60 Red Knots.”  That’s it?  I said to myself.  No, he must be holding something back.  However, if they did find something good they would want to take credit for it.  My spirits rose a bit and I called Mike to see if he had heard anything.  Nothing.  I e-mailed Shane Blodgett another member of the Talliers, no response.  Oh well, I couldn’t worry about it all day, plus my daughter was having one of her birthday parties and I went to that and hoped for the best.

On Monday I got up and checked my e-mail again.  Still nothing.  I know the results were supposed to be announced by New York City Audubon on Monday, but I still wanted to hear something.  I checked Rob Jett’s blog again, still no updates.  I checked the Audubon website, no luck there either.  I went to work with a feeling in my stomach that they day could be really good or really bad.

A little after 1pm, I received a phone call from Mike.  All he had to say was “we won.”  I cracked a smile and a great sense of relief came over me.  My next question was “How much did we win by?” his response, “By one, again”.  Ouch.  I couldn’t help but think about the team from Brooklyn, I couldn’t imagine how they must feel.  We won 147 to 146 (It was 141 to 140 last year) the 3rd place team was way behind at 118.

Shortly after I sent an e-mail to Shane Blodgett congratulating him on a job well done.  I have yet to get a response.  Robb Jett  hasn’t even posted on his blog about it yet.  They must be in shock.  They improved by 6 birds, 5 over our total last year.  They must have been feeling very confident this year.  This must really hurt.

My day however got better.  I got a permanent appointment to my job, met Corey after work to do some Century Run scouting at the Albany Pine Bush where I picked up a year and State bird in Black Vulture over the Albany Dump.  I stopped at the Outback Steakhouse on my way home and picked up dinner and spent the rest of the evening celebrating and watching TV with my wife and kids.

I will do this again next year, to defend our title.  But, wiill the Brooklyn team be back?  Will there be a new challenger?  Only time will tell… But for now it’s a blast!

The Forgotten Boroughing Owls Complete Species List

1st Place

147 species

Seth Wollney (Captain), Mike Shanley, Isaac Grant and Will Raup

Common Loon, Double-crested Cormorant, Least Bittern, Great Blue Heron, Great Egret, Snowy Egret, Little Blue Heron, Green Heron, Black-crowned Night-Heron, Yellow-crowned Night-Heron, Glossy Ibis, Turkey Vulture, Canada Goose, Brant, Mute Swan, Wood Duck, Gadwall, American Wigeon, American Black Duck, Mallard, Ring-necked Duck, Greater Scaup, Bufflehead, Red-breasted Merganser, Ruddy Duck, Osprey, Red-tailed Hawk, Ring-necked Pheasant, Wild Turkey, Clapper Rail, Virginia Rail, Common Moorhen, Black-bellied Plover, Semipalmated Plover, Piping Plover, Killdeer, American Oystercatcher, Greater Yellowlegs, Lesser Yellowlegs, Solitary Sandpiper, Willet, Spotted Sandpiper, Ruddy Turnstone, Red Knot, Sanderling, Semipalmated Sandpiper, Least Sandpiper, Dunlin, Short-billed Dowitcher, American Woodcock, Laughing Gull, Ring-billed Gull, Herring Gull, Great Black-backed Gull, Gull-billed Tern, Common Tern, Forster’s Tern, Least Tern, Rock Pigeon, Mourning Dove, Black-billed Cuckoo, Yellow-billed Cuckoo, Eastern Screech-Owl, Great Horned Owl, Chimney Swift, Ruby-throated Hummingbird, Belted Kingfisher, Red-bellied Woodpecker, Downy Woodpecker, Hairy Woodpecker, Northern Flicker, Eastern Wood-Pewee, Willow Flycatcher, Least Flycatcher, Great Crested Flycatcher, Eastern Kingbird, White-eyed Vireo, Blue-headed Vireo, Warbling Vireo, Red-eyed Vireo, Blue Jay, American Crow, Fish Crow, Purple Martin, Tree Swallow, Northern Rough-winged Swallow, Bank Swallow, Barn Swallow, Black-capped Chickadee, Tufted Titmouse, White-breasted Nuthatch, Carolina Wren, House Wren, Marsh Wren, Ruby-crowned Kinglet, Blue-gray Gnatcatcher, Veery, Swainson’s Thrush, Wood Thrush, American Robin, Gray Catbird, Northern Mockingbird, Brown Thrasher, European Starling, Cedar Waxwing, Blue-winged Warbler, Nashville Warbler, Northern Parula, Yellow Warbler, Chestnut-sided Warbler, Magnolia Warbler, Cape May Warbler, Black-throated Blue Warbler, Yellow-rumped Warbler, Black-throated Green Warbler, Blackburnian Warbler, Prairie Warbler, Blackpoll Warbler, Black-and-white Warbler, American Redstart, Prothonotary Warbler, Ovenbird, Northern Waterthrush, Common Yellowthroat, Canada Warbler, Scarlet Tanager, Eastern Towhee, Chipping Sparrow, Savannah Sparrow, Seaside Sparrow, Song Sparrow, Swamp Sparrow, White-throated Sparrow, White-crowned Sparrow, Northern Cardinal, Rose-breasted Grosbeak, Indigo Bunting, Bobolink, Red-winged Blackbird, Common Grackle, Boat-tailed Grackle, Brown-headed Cowbird, Orchard Oriole, Baltimore Oriole, House Finch, American Goldfinch and House Sparrow

Leave a Reply

